/List of mandatory documents required by ISO 45001

List of mandatory documents required by ISO 45001

ISO 45001 is the international standard that contains best practices for OH&S (occupational health and safety). Its goal is to reduce injuries and diseases in the workplace, including the promotion and protection of physical and mental health.

It’s an issue that’s more important than ever. In addition to the 2.78 million deaths and 374 million injuries each year from workplace incidents, countless others face mental health issues.

COVID-19 helped put some of those problems into relief, but it’s something organisations must continue to be vigilant about as the pandemic subsides.

In this blog, we look at the mandatory documentation and records you must complete to comply with ISO 45001 – as well as non-mandatory documents that can support your compliance activities.

Mandatory documentation

Clause 4.3 Scope of the OH&S management systemClause 5.2 OH&S policyClause 5.3 Responsibilities and authorities within OH&SMSClause 6.1.1 OH&S process for addressing risks and opportunitiesClause Methodology and criteria for assessment of OH&S risksClause 6.2.2 OH&S objectives and plans for achieving themClause 8.2 Emergency preparedness and response process

Mandatory records

Clause 6.1.1 OH&S risks and opportunities and actions for addressing themClause 6.1.3 Legal and other requirementsClause 7.2 Evidence of competenceClause 7.4.1 Evidence of communicationsClause 8.2 Plans for responding to potential emergency situationsClause 9.1.1 Results on monitoring, measurements, analysis and performance evaluationClause 9.1.1 Maintenance, calibration or verification of monitoring equipmentClause 9.1.2 Compliance evaluation resultsClause 9.2.2 Internal audit programClause 9.2.2 Internal audit reportClause 9.3 Results of management reviewClause 10.2 Nature of incidents or nonconformities and any subsequent action takenClause 10.2 Results of any action and corrective action, including their effectivenessClause 10.3 Evidence of the results of continual improvement

Non-mandatory documents

In addition to mandatory documentation, there are many other parts of ISO 45001 that organisations may find relevant. This includes:

Clause 4.1 Procedure for determining context of the organization and interested partiesClause 5.4 Procedure for consultation and participation of workersClause Procedure for hazard identification and assessmentClause 6.1.3 Procedure for identification of legal requirementsClause 7.4.1 Procedure for communicationClause 7.5 Procedure for document and record controlClause 8.1 Procedure for operational planning and controlClause 8.1.3 Procedure for change managementClause 9.1.1 Procedure for monitoring, measuring and analysisClause 9.1.2 Procedure for compliance evaluationClause 9.2 Procedure for internal auditClause 9.3 Procedure for management reviewClause 10.1 Procedure for incident investigationClause 10.1 Procedure for management of nonconformities and corrective actionsClause 10.3 Procedure for continual improvement

Establishing an OH&S management system

Those looking for more advice tackling occupational health and safety may be interested in Establishing an occupational health & safety management system based on ISO 45001.

This book, written by consultant and trainer Naeem Sadiq, explains how organisations can use ISO 45001’s requirements to create a safer work environment.

You’ll find out the purpose and requirements of each clause in ISO 45001, learn how to build an OH&S management system in a step-by-step approach and receive real-world examples of health and safety issues along with the ideal way to handle that situation.

Purchase your copy

The post List of mandatory documents required by ISO 45001 appeared first on IT Governance UK Blog.

Read more: itgovernance.co.uk